Pregnant? Nauseous? Trying to still teach?

You’ve discovered you’re newly pregnant!

Congratulations!

Each little one is a blessing from God!

I’m not sure what you’re feeling- excitement, trepidation, just the many hormones surging through your body?

If you’re anything like me, you’re feeling physically tired and nauseous all throughout the day (“morning sickness”- ha!)

My handy bucket that stays with me, wherever I go.

So how do you teach your children when you feel like vomiting most of the day?

Tip #1

Find as many audio books as you can. Are you reading Charlotte’s Web to your children during story time or Story of the World for history? Get the audio book (bonus if you can get it free from the library or a friend) and press play. Curl up on the couch and let the audio do its job.

Tip #2

Let the children read! What better reading practice is there than reading aloud? I don’t know about you, but my children will sometimes read something differently than it should be pronounced because they had only come across the word in print. If they are reading aloud, I can catch this and teach them the correct pronunciation. My children realize that while I’m pregnant and nauseous, it ills me to read too long and therefore, everyone needs to help out. They each take turns reading aloud, whether it is a chapter book we are working through or the history summary questions (I choose the person who is most likely to already know the answer).

Tip #3

Skip some things. I know, I know, some of us hate to do this, but spelling can wait. Perhaps you will have to add a few weeks to school later, but it would be better for your health (and the baby’s and the children!) to delay some things.

Tip #4

Keep it simple. Now is not the time to try the extravagant projects or try out the funky recipes from other countries. This is survival mode.

Tip #5

Electronics are your friend. Typically, I avoid electronics use by my children as much as I can afford. However, now is the time to bust out the documentaries or fun shows (State Plate or Inventions that Shook the World are great choices). They are learning; you can rest your eyes.

Tip #6

Enjoy the great outdoors. If the weather is right, get outside. Fresh air really helps me feel better. We have done many days of school outside and the children typically enjoy it thoroughly.

Tip #7

If you haven’t already employed a quiet time in the afternoon, do it now!! Nap time gets me through the day in my first trimester. Eventually I’m back to myself, but the ability to rest strengthens my body to push into those bewitching evening hours.

Either way, take it easy and give yourself grace, as this time will pass! It may seem like forever right now, but in a handful of weeks or months you will be back to your same energy and be able to manage those projects you wanted to get to or cover those spelling lessons once again. To everything there is a season and this season you need to give yourself a break!

Leave a comment